New Georgia Texting Law took effect on July 1st, 2010
The State of Georgia has passed two new laws to hopefully reduce car accidents caused by distracted drivers.
1. Senate Bill 360 (No texting while driving):
“No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read any text based communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, electronic mail, or Internet data.”
The fine for offenders will be $150 and one point on the driver’s license.
2. House Bill 23 (No cell phone use by minors):
This new law “prohibits use of wireless telecommunications devices by persons under 18 years of age with an instruction permit or Class D license while operating a motor vehicle”.
The fines are also $150 and one point on the driver’s license
“Driving” includes sitting at a red light or stop sign.
Click the above links to read the full bills on the Georgia General Assembly Website.